The “Newer” Shed

WHEN I BOUGHT THE property, there were two old sheds in the backyard. The older one was literally being held together with two-by-fours so that it would not fall on anyone who was visiting the property. I took this shed down by myself, both to see if the boards could be salvaged and because it seemed like a chore I could accomplish.

Inside of shed
Note the two-by-four supports that stretched across the shed to keep it from falling apart.

The larger shed was much more of a challenge. It was taller and several times the size of the smaller one. I expect that it may have been some sort of barn at some point in its history. There was a trough inside. I did remove the vinyl siding that had been added to the front, but I wanted someone else to take it down for me. My Uncle Bob first talked to someone he knew who was interested to take down the shed if he could get the metal from the roof. He wanted $500 to complete the job though. I also talked with someone who thought he might be interested to take the shed down for the the lumber, but when he looked at it and saw that it was pine, rather than another kind of lumber, he estimated the teardown at $1000. He did say that he could complete the job in four days.

By chance as I was grabbing a bagel at the local shop, Main Street Bagels, I saw a business card for Broadus Reclamation, a non-profit outfit that takes down old buildings and reclaims the lumber. When I talked with the owner, he suggested that they could take the barn down in about two weeks and that they’d clean up the site. I liked the idea of the boards being reused and we made a plan for them to start the work. A two-week timeline turned into a five-month project, so there were real frustrations in the process, but, finally, they got the building on the ground and starting stacking the boards to haul them away. As of last week (early April 2017), they had removed all of the boards, though there are still some of their supplies and some of the bricks from the foundation still on the ground near where the shed stood.

I expect that eventually the new garage will go near where the barn once stood, but it’s not yet clear exactly how it should be situated on the site. One obstacle is the old black walnut tree that anchored the corner of the barn. I don’t want to cut it down, but it’s essentially in the way. Once the power company comes to bury the electrical lines that crossed over the roof of the barn, I’ll have a better sense of where the garage might fit best.

After months of sweat and coaxing, both sheds are down and things are coming together for the next steps in planning for the other buildings on the property.

 

 

Leave a Reply

